The area now known as Huntsville was first settled in 1869 by George Hunt, and was subsequently named Huntsville after George.  The village of Huntsville was first incorporated in 1886, then incorporated as a Town in 1901.  In 1971 Huntsville was incorporated into the District of Muskoka.

Huntsville is the largest town in the Muskoka region, with a  population of approximately 19,816.  Built on the Canadian shield, only 215 km north of Toronto it is a popular destination for cottagers and tourists.  It is comprised of several smaller hamlets, and many clear lakes.  Most notably are Huntville’s three largest lakes: Mary Lake, Lake Vernon and Fairy Lake.  Running through the historic downtown is the Muskoka river, and within the township boundaries is Arrowhead Provincial Park.

Huntsville is a popular destination for Artists, and was once a regular painting spot for The Group of Seven Artists, including Tom Thomson. Today Huntsville links its past and present with an outdoor gallery featuring over 40 murals.

Interested in purchasing a Huntsville property?  See a list of current listings here.

To view the Lake Data sheets produced by the District of Muskoka, click on the desired lake:

Fairy Lake, Lake Vernon, or Mary Lake.

To View the Lake Fact Sheet by the Ministry of Natural Resources please select the desired lake:

Fairy Lake, Lake Vernon, or Mary Lake.